Rieskatbanner.jpg

For a while already I've tried to find a recipe for my favourite thin bread, in Finnish "rieska" until I figured out what my version was in Swedish called "tunnbröd". There are a lot of different kinds of "rieska" in Finland, but most people seem to consider them as 1 - 1,5 cm thick small slabs of bread that I don't really like so much.

To me "rieska" is only 1 - 2 mm thin and it's soft so it can be rolled up easily. I found this recipe in Swedish here, changed it a little bit and made my version.

 

Thin bread:

- 10 - 15 g yeast

- 35 - 40 g margarine or butter

- 3 1/2 dl milk

- 1 tsp sugar

- 1/2 tsp salt

- 1 1/2 dl graham flour

- 1/2 tsp baking powder

- 5 - 6 dl wheat flour

Melt the margarine or butter. Warm up the milk to body temperature and dilute the yeast into it. Add the sugar and salt. Mix the baking powder into the graham flour and mix it in the mixture. Mix in also the margarine or butter and start adding wheat flour while mixing. Leave a little bit of the flour for shaping the breads. Knead the dough until you can shape it into a ball and it doesn't stick everywhere anymore. Leave to rest for about 40 - 60 mins in a slightly warm place.

Rieskatdoughcombine.jpg

 

Divide the dough into 8 - 10 pieces and make balls out of them. Roll the balls with a rolling pin into flat circles, as flat as you can, with the help of some flour and dust off the excess flour. Bake on a dry frying pan on high heat for 2 minutes on each side. I like to bake my breads so that they have some dark spots in them. You can poke hole in the breads with a fork on the pan when they're still raw. Let the breads rest under a kitchen towel.

 

Rieskatbaking.jpg

Rieskat041small.jpg

 

Enjoy with just butter or with fillings of your choice. I was in a rush to eat them while they were still warm so I didn't pay much attention to garnishing.

Rieskat051small.jpg

 

Ohuet rieskat pannulla