Dragonmittensbanner.jpg

I know, I know... Even though the nights are starting to be quite dark this time of year, it's hardly cold enough to need mittens. I still wanted to make a pair for myself and at the same time try to make a folding tip for both the thumb and other fingers and do this all as one piece mitten, no sewn seams.

I found a really cute dragon pattern from Ravelry. It's for a bookscarf but I used it in the mittens by making one back of the mitten with the dragon the way as in the pattern and the other mirrored.

I used just plain old Novita 7 veljestä black and dark grey. I started in black with 40 stitches 1 x 1 rib and at the wrist I added 4 stitches. When the pattern started I took the grey yarn and carried it along in the inside of the mitten making it much warmer at the same time. On the palm side I used a 1 black 1 grey pattern alternating the stich color on every other row. I made up the glove pattern as I went and it would be rather hard to write down so I'm not going to do that here. Actually I can't even remember what I did even though I just finished the gloves today. I'll let the pictures do the talking. They're very warm.

Dragonmittens009combine.jpg

Dragonmittens021small.jpg

Dragonmittens036small.jpg

Dragonmittens053small.jpg

 

 

Lohikäärme - Lapaset - Kuvio