Poropiirakkabanner.jpg

For a while I had wanted to try a reindeer pie and now I did. The base for me was a little too crumbly, but I'll post a version which I think could be better here instead of the one I used. It has a little more margarine and an added egg.

Smoked reindeer and blue cheese pie:

Dough:

- 1 dl graham flour

- 1 1/2 dl rye flour

- 1 tsl baking powder

- 1/2 tsp salt

- 150 g margarine

- 1/2 dl milk

- 1 egg

 

Mix the dry ingredients and pinch in the margarine. Add the milk and egg and mix into a smooth paste. Press the dough in a mold. You can use some baking paper under the dough to make sure it doesn't stick.

 

Filling:

- paprika

- blue cheese

- spring onion

- 100 g cold smoked reindeer

- black pepper

- 2 dl cooking cream

- 1 egg

(- cherry tomatoes)

- grated cheese

Chop the vegetables and the reindeer. Sprinkle them on the base and crumble the blue cheese on top. Grind on some pepper. Mix the cream with the egg and pour the mixture on top of the pie evenly. Put on the cherry tomatoes halved and sprinkle on some cheese. Bake in 200 degrees celcius for abour 20 mins.

Poropiirakkacombine.jpg

 

My pie tasted great even though the base was a little dry.

Poropiirakka034small.jpg

Poropiirakka036small.jpg

 

Savuporopiiras - Aurajuusto - Homejuusto - Kylmäsavuporo