Nokkosletutbanner.jpg

I've been busy with other things and haven't been able to blog all the things I've made since my last blog post, but I'm not gone. Here's a recipe I tried for the first time and I liked it. This time I also got another mouth to taste my food and I got the thumbs up for this one.

In the summer I dried a few liters of nettles for the winter and this is the first time I'm using some from my stash. Nettles are an excellent source of iron and this is one of the reasons why I like to use them in my food.

I have been meaning to try nettle pancakes for a while now. These pancakes are sort of nautral in taste. You can eat them with something savoury like my prawn filling, or with something sweet like jam and whipped cream. Again, versatility, as always.

 

Nettle pancakes:

- 2 eggs

- 1 tbsp oil

- 1 tsp salt

- 1 dl wheat flour

- 1 dl graham flour

- 1/2 - 1 dl dried nettles

- 5 - 6 dl milk (or mixture of milk and water)

You can either just mix the ingredients in whatever order or do it the way I do: Put the eggs, oil and salt in a bowl. Add in the nettles and the flour and mix together well. Start adding the liquid a little at a time. This way you should avoid clumps. Leave the batter to rest in the fridge for atleast half an hour, but can be longer before frying. Fry on a frying pan or pancake pan on medium to mild heat

Nokkosletut18combine.jpg

 

Shrimp filling:

- 200 g shrimp

- 200 g cream cheese

- spring onion

- celery

- capers

- cucumber

- peas

- 2 boiled eggs

- mayonnaise

- pepper

- salt

(- sugar)

- mustard

 

I was making this recipe up as I was making it, so the pictures might not tell all. This filling can obviously be used also in other things, like baked potatoes, or you can add some boiled potato and make a shrimp and potato salad.

Chop up the vegetables and eggs small and put them in a bowl. In another bowl mix the cream cheese and half of the shrimp and blend them together into a smooth paste. Add the rest of the shrimp and the shrimp and cream cheese paste in the vegetable bowl. Season with pepper, salt and possibly sugar, and add a bit of mayonnaise and mustard if you wish.

Nokkosletutfillingcombine.jpg

Nokkosletut24small.jpg

 

Here are my pancakes:

Nokkosletut37small.jpg

 

 

Nokkosletut - Suolainen täyte - Katkaraputäyte